Multifamily ''stars'' shine at annual awards celebration

  • Share:
July 26, 2017
The area’s multifamily housing industry celebrated its achievements at the Tidewater Multifamily Housing Council’s Annual Awards of Excellence Celebration July 20 at the Virginia Beach Convention Center. More than 675 members and guests gathered for the event, which is now in its 33rd year.

Merit Awards were presented for outstanding performance and Awards of Excellence were given to exceptional apartment communities in South Hampton Roads, competing in categories based on when they were constructed.  

Eight individuals, one company and one apartment community were honored at the banquet for their performance in the multifamily housing industry this past year. They include:
  • Lifetime Achievement: Carl Hardee, The Lawson Cos.
  • Multifamily Executive of the Year : Vivian Bryant, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
  •  Regional Property Manager of the Year:   Kesha Webster, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
  •  Property Manager of the Year:    Karen Masterson, Clark Whitehill Enterprises
  •  Leasing Consultant of the Year:    Nicole Saas, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
  •  Maintenance Supervisor of the Year:  Roy Yobp, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
  •   Maintenance Employee of the Year:   Eleck Sutton, Clark Whitehill Enterprises                                                                                                            
  • Above and Beyond AwardJanice Butler-Harris, The Lawson Cos.
  •  Associate Member of the Year (recognizing one of the council’s associate member firms for their support):  Belfor Property Restoration
  •  Residents’ Choice (recognizing the apartment community whose residents voted it “the best” in an online competition): Thousand Oaks, The Breeden Co.


 In addition to the Merit Awards, the winners of the 2017 Awards of Excellence were also announced.  This year, 111 communities competed for honors in 11 award categories, based on the date they were built. The recipients were:
Subsidized communities
Gold:  The Rivers, The Lawson Cos.
Silver:  Hunters Point, The Lawson Cos.
Bronze:  Park Terrace, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Senior communities completed between 1975 and 1999
Gold:  John Knox Towers, The Lawson Cos.
Silver:  Stonebridge Manor, Frye Properties Inc.
Bronze (TIE):  Cromwell House, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc. and
                           Holland House, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.

Senior communities completed as of 2000 and later
Gold:  Brenneman Lakes, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Silver:  The Cottages at Great Bridge, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
Bronze:  Victoria Place, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
Communities completed between 1940 and 1949
Gold: Sterling Oaks, Frye Properties Inc.
Silver:  Archer’s  Green, Signature Management Corp.
Bronze:  Talbot Park, BMR Investments
Communities completed between 1960 and 1969
Gold:  Haven, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Silver:  Park Towne, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Bronze:  Lakeville Townhomes, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.

Communities completed between 1970 and 1974
Gold:  Harpers Square, The Lawson Cos.
Silver: Churchland Square, The Lawson Cos.
Bronze:  Linkhorn Bay, PRG Real Estate
Communities completed between 1975 and 1979
GoldChartwell, The Lawson Cos.
Silver: Greenlakes, The Lawson Cos.
Bronze:  Aspen, Clark Whitehill Enterprises
Communities completed between 1980 and 1989
Gold (TIE):  Ghent Village, The Lawson Cos. and
       Westwinds, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
Silver:  College Square at Harbour View, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Bronze:  Brittany Place, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Communities completed between 1990 and 1999
GoldMission College, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Silver:  Dominion Pines, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Bronze: Campostella Commons, The Lawson Cos.
Communities completed between 2000 and 2009
Gold:  The Cosmopolitan, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Silver:  Brenneman Farm, S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.
Bronze:  Belmont at Greenbrier, Kotarides Property Management
Communities completed as of 2010 and later
Gold:  Red Knot at Edinburgh, The Breeden Co.
Silver:  Aqua on 25th Street, The Breeden Co.
Bronze:  Clairmont at Jolliff Landing, Kotarides Property Management
Diamond Award (presented to a community that scores a perfect 100 during the judging)
Ghent Village, The Lawson Cos.
Westwinds, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
Thirty-seven communities also competed for a Platinum Award, which recognizes specific components of an apartment community.  The recipients were:

Best Model (TIE):  Red Knot at Edinburgh, The Breeden Co. and     
525 Historic Kempsville, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.
Best Amenities Package (TIE):  Cambria at Cornerstone, The Breeden Co. and   
Clairmont at Jolliff Landing, Kotarides Property Management

Best Maintenance Shop: Cambria at Cornerstone, The Breeden Co.                                                      

Best Curb Appeal:  Westwinds, Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc. 

RAM School Graduates

 Also recognized at the event were the graduates of TMHC’s Registered in Apartment Management (RAM) School. The graduates completed a two-week basic RAM training program in on-site management, the first step to acquiring the RAM designation, a Department of Housing and Urban Development-approved certification program.
The graduates, and the companies that employ them, include:

BMR Investments:  Camille Anglin Roper 
The Breeden Co.:  Heather Bell, Janet Brown, Crystal Klemmer, Angela LeChevalier, Andi Rogers 
Breezy Point Apartments:  Brianna Moore 
Clark Whitehill Enterprises:  Elizabeth Dickinson, Heather Guthrie, Katana Harbin 
Frye Properties Inc.:  Kelly Brunson, Courtney Ferebee, Tamekia Sanders, De’ana Williams
Kotarides Property Management:  Nikki Durkot, Brittany Epps, Brian McClanahan, Dianna Murphy, Robert Sheldon, Clarence Smith, Lauren Smith, Aubrena Taylor 
The Lawson Cos.:  Tara Brooke, Lisa Foster, Solomon Fowler, Danielle Godwin, Leighland Holton, Brion Humphrey Sr., Radianncee Jones, Crystal Kaluzny, Natoya Kelly, Quiana Reynolds, Brittney Scalf, Shenise Turner 
Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority:  Sheila Joyner 
Ripley Heatwole Co. Inc.: Grace Forbes, Andrea Smith 
S.L. Nusbaum Realty Co.:  Victoria Drewry, Sjanae Gonzalez, McKenzie Henderson Rader, Ebony Little, Jennifer McDonald, Keila Perez Feliz, Alexia Webster, Olivia West, Ilyona Wroton-Pearson 
United Property Associates:  Brittani Oliver, Elizabeth Webb, Teniesha Wilson, Lisa Zlotucha-Turner
Whitmore Management:  April Lynn Haynie
No company affiliation:  Passion Flowers 
Joyce Hearn
(757) 420-2434 x247