Skip to content

TBA awards $35,000 in scholarships

Ten local high school students and two high school drafting instructors were awarded a total of $35,000 from the Tidewater Builders Association Scholarship Foundation during its annual academic awards program and Young Designers’ Scholarship Competition. 

Six scholarships were awarded for academic excellence, community service and financial need. Four students also received awards from the annual Young Designers’ Scholarship Competition, and two drafting instructors each received a $500 school grant.
The following academic scholarship recipients each received a $5,000 four-year scholarship:
  • Nahum Boggs of Norview High School, Norfolk, received the Lee A. Gifford Memorial Scholarship. He will be studying computer science at Old Dominion University.
  • Heather Eichman of Nansemond River High School, Suffolk, received the Channing A. Pfeiffer Scholarship. She plans to attend University of Alabama Huntsville to study computer engineering.
  • Armani Jack of Booker T. Washington High School, Norfolk, received the Howard and Nancye Weisberg Scholarship. She plans to major in chemistry at Virginia Commonwealth University.
  • Richard Kyte of Western Branch High School, Chesapeake, received the Richard E. Olivieri Memorial Scholarship.  He will be pursuing a computer science degree at Virginia Tech.                                                 
  • Alan Li of Norview High School, Norfolk, received the Richard D. Guy Scholarship.  He will be majoring in computer science at the University of Virginia.
  • Marshall Robertson of Maury High School, Norfolk, received the William J. Hearring Memorial Scholarship.  He plans to study general engineering at Virginia Tech.
 A talent for design

Eighteen students entered the Young Designers’ Scholarship Competition, a program for high school students interested in drafting, architecture or home building.
The competition’s three judges were local architecture and building professionals. The 2019 competition winners and their awards are:
  • Maya Smith of  Advanced Technology Center/Kellam High School, Virginia Beach,  $1,500 first place;
  • Miriya Philip  of  Ocean Lakes High School, Virginia Beach, $1,200 second place;
  • Aliyah White of Advanced Technology Center/Bayside High School, Virginia Beach, $800 third place; and
  • Hunter Haushalter of Advanced Technology Center/Kempsville High School, Virginia Beach, $500 honorable mention
Instructors Eric Nestor of Oscar Smith High School, Chesapeake, and Cecilia Hess of Ocean Lakes High School, Virginia Beach, each won a $500 school grant to assist their drafting programs with necessary supplies and equipment.
Now in its 54th year, the TBA Scholarship Foundation has awarded 456 scholarships and close to $1.8 million since 1965. TBA will continue to provide scholarship funding during the 2019-20 academic year to 19 other past recipients.   Funds for the Scholarship Foundation are raised by TBA members through the construction of a Scholarship House, as well as private donations.  A portion of the proceeds from the annual TBA Golf Tournament, which was held May 17, are also contributed to the foundation.